If you received a civil traffic moving violation, you may be eligible to take a defensive driving class and have the violation dismissed. A defensive driving class may only be taken for one violation every 12 months. If you choose this option, and are eligible, the violation will not be included on your driving record and no points will be assessed to your motor vehicle record.
Your citation has a check box by each violation that indicates whether it is criminal or civil. The only criminal violation that may be eligible for a defensive driving class is A.R.S. 28-701.02 and its subsections (criminal speeding). You will need to contact the court to request permission to attend defensive driving school for the criminal speed violation.
Information on defensive driving eligible violations can be found on the link below. If you choose to attend a defensive driving school and are eligible, information can be found at:
- Phone line: (888) 334-5565
- The violation you attend Defensive Driving School for will be dismissed.
- You do not pay the fine for that violation.
- No points will be assessed on your driving record.
- No court appearance will be required.
Students must provide the required paperwork (traffic citation) and pay the class fee prior to beginning the class. All participants must provide adequate government issued driver license or identification card and affirm they are eligible to attend.
All students must complete the entire class in order to receive a completion certificate.
If you have a commercial driver’s license (CDL), you are eligible to attend the diversion program for dismissal of a citation if the violation occurred in a non-commercial motor vehicle.
The court will only accept classes that are certified by the Arizona Supreme Court.
You must complete the class including testing time 7 days prior to your court date.
Traffic Survival School
If you have been charged with A.R.S. 28-645A3A or A.R.S. 28-647 or are under the age of 18 and charged with a first offense moving violation, the Arizona Department of Motor Vehicles will require you to attend Traffic Survival School in addition to any other penalties imposed by the court. If you are eligible to attend a defensive driving school and complete a class prior to your court date, your violation will be dismissed, and you will not be required to attend Traffic Survival School.
- What is a Defensive Driving Class?
A defensive driving class is a course in traffic and vehicle safety intended to teach (or remind) drivers about safe driving attitudes and techniques. Defensive driving schools are private businesses certified by the Arizona Supreme Court that provide these classes for the benefit of the public and the courts.
- Am I Eligible for a Defensive Driving Class and How Often Can I Attend?
You may attend defensive driving school if you have been cited for a civil traffic moving violation or a related local ordinance violation as specified in Arizona Revised Statutes 28-3392(A). Courts may also allow attendance for a criminal speeding violation of Arizona Revised Statutes 28-701.02. A person can only attend a class once every 12 months (violation date to violation date) for a permissible violation. Defensive driving schools can answer specific eligibility questions for you.
- May I Attend a Defensive Driving Class for More Than One Violation?
No. You are allowed to attend for one eligible violation once every 12 months.
- Will Points Be Added to My Driving Record?
No. Once you complete a defensive driving class, the violation is dismissed.