To obtain a certified copy of your marriage license (marriage abstract), please send your request to the Clerk of Superior Court, PO BOX 7000, Kingman, AZ 86402, together with a self-addressed stamped envelope, OR include $7 for postage and handling, and $28. Please include the names of the parties and the approximate date of the marriage.
Does the State of Arizona require a blood test?
Is there a waiting period to get married?
How much is a certified copy of a marriage license (Marriage Abstract)?
$28 plus $7 postage and handling
How long is a marriage license valid before the ceremony?
The marriage ceremony must be performed within one year of the issuance of a license or the license expires.
How do I apply for a License?
Applications can be obtained at the Clerk's Office. Both the applicants must be present to apply for a marriage license. Don't forget to bring proof of identification with you to prove your age. Also, you can apply by mail, Click here for application
How much does it cost for a License?
There is a $78.00 fee, payable at the time of application, payable in cash, check or credit Card. The fee is non-refundable.
Can I get my marriage license through the mail?
Yes, click here to download instructions and forms for obtaining your marriage license by mail.
How old must I be to apply for a license?
Both applicants must be at least 18 years of age or older. Applicants who are 16 or 17 years of age must be accompanied by one parent or legal guardian who can provide consent. If parents are divorced, the parent giving consent must show they have sole custody or both parents will be required to sign for the license. If you are fifteen (15) years of age or younger, permission from a Superior Court Judge, in the form of a court order, is required before your application will be accepted. Please call (928) 753-0713 for further information about this process.
Do I have to be a resident of Arizona?
Applicants do not have to be residents of the State of Arizona to obtain a marriage license. However, the license is only valid for weddings that are performed within the state.
What are acceptable forms of Identification?
With the application, each applicant must submit identification which contains their photograph and signature such as a copy of a valid: driver’s license, military ID, or passport.
Do I have to show proof of my divorce before I can get a license?
Proof of divorce from a previous spouse or death of a spouse is not required to obtain a license for a new marriage. It is the responsibility of the applicant to ensure that the final decree of divorce is filed before the new wedding ceremony occurs.
Do I need to bring witnesses to apply for a license?
Witnesses are not necessary to apply for a license, but state law requires that at least two witnesses be present at the ceremony. Witnesses must be at least 18 years of age.
Are same sex marriages legal in the State of Arizona?
Yes, as of 10/17/2014 same sex marriages are recognized in the State of Arizona.
Covenant marriages in Arizona?
Who is authorized to perform a marriage ceremony?